Texas Declaration of Independence

The Texas Declaration of Independence was made by delegates of Texan citizens on March 2, 1836 in Washington-on-the-Brazos, Texas. In it, Texas declared itself independent of Mexico, of which it had been a part. Richard Ellis, president of the convention, appointed a committee of five to write the declaration, but the declaration was written for the most part by George C. Childress, one of the members with little help. Among others, the declaration mentions the following reasons for the separation:

  • The Mexican Constitution of 1824 establishing a federalist republic had been usurped and changed into a centralist military dictatorship of Antonio López de Santa Anna with aid from the Catholic Church.
  • The Mexican government had invited settlers to Texas, but then reneged on the political guarantees.
  • Slavery was illegal under Mexican law.
  • Texas was in union with the Mexican state of Coahuila, with the capital in distant Saltillo. The affairs of Texas were decided, far removed from the province and in Spanish.
  • Certain political rights, such as the right to jury trial and religious freedoms, had been denied.
  • No system of public education had been established.
  • All citizens of Mexico had to be members of the Roman Catholic Church

The full text of the Texas Declaration of Independence can be found here

copyright © 2004 FactsAbout.com